Paris: Jour 5

We left the hotel early this morning for our excursion out to Normandy.

Our first stop was Point du Hoc, where we walked through the trenches and bunkers used by the Germans to defend against the Allied invasion.  It was erie to see butterflies and wild flowers growing in great holes in the earth, caused by heavy artillery just a couple generations ago.

We stopped at Omaha beach, taking in the long strip of sand which a memorial to those who fought for freedom over looks.

Although it forced me to think about terrible times, I am grateful to have the opportunity to see what I did.  It makes it feel much more real, and it increases the gratitude for those who put their lives at stake to defend the free world.

Lunch was held at a bed and breakfast, and it was one of the most delicious meals I have ever had in my life.  First off, the aperitif was Kir, a licorice-Champagne sort of drink.  I’m not really sure what it was but I could not get enough of it.  The appetizer was a mixture of melted brie on apple on toast.  Roasted chicken with gravy and a fig.  Dessert.  Oh my.  Although I was already stuffed to the brim, I ate as much as I could.  It was like Neapolitan three different ways, ice cream, a cake, and something else that was a combination of the two.

Leave a Reply

